Presidents’ dinner in honor of Tim Newton


Nov 3, 2022


6:00 PM – 7:00 PM | Cocktails in the Parlor [performance by musical guests]
7:00 PM – 7:15 PM | Salad set down & settle at table [seating open, except president’s table – reserved]

7:15 PM – 7:25 PM | Openings remarks by Jacob Collins, president [welcome + acknowledgement, one-by-one, of all past living presidents & chairmen, introduction of Elizabeth Spencer, past president]
7:25 PM – 7:30 PM | Elizabeth Spencer, past president [remarks + introduce artist Don Demers]
7:30 PM – 7:35 PM | Don Demers speaks about Tim Newton
7:35 PM – 7:45 PM | Elizabeth Spencer presents medal of honor to Tim Newton, Tim makes remarks

7:45 PM – 8:15 PM | Dinner is served
8:00 PM – 9:00 PM | Music entertainment
9:00 PM | Dessert served
9:30 PM | Dinner ends


parlor & skylight gallery



Open to Salmagundi members and their guests
Tickets are required in advance, and will not be sold at the door

$150 | Per plate
Prix fixe dinner; cocktail hour + wine at table during dinner
Seating is round tables that hold 10-12 people each
Add to Calendar


The presidents’ dinner offers the club and its many members the opportunity to express their thanks to past Presidents, for it is their service and dedication that have contributed greatly to Salmagundi’s history and current resurgence.  We all hope that our past Presidents will be able to join us, as well as other dignitaries and club members, for a most enjoyable evening.

Nearly every year we award the Salmagundi medal of honor to a distinguished member of the arts community, and this year the medal will be awarded to Tim Newton.

Menu | to be determined


Beet & Endive Salad
w/ Stilton, toasted hazelnuts, arugula, Champagne vinaigrette


Roasted Prime Rib
w/Potato gratin, baby carrots, haricot vert & bordelaise sauce
Grilled Atlantic Salmon
w/ steamed asparagus, celery root puree, Riesling sauce


crisp Italian meringue w/ crushed pistachio & assorted berries
Flourless Chocolate – Raspberry Cake
w/ whipped cream
About Tim Newton

Richard Schmid, Tim NewtonA Salmagundi member since 2003, Tim proposed and curated American Masters, a national invitational exhibition held at the Club from 2008 through 2018. As one of the purposes for Masters, Tim proposed that the funds raised from the show initiate fundraising for the renovation/restoration of what is now known as Salmagundi’s skylight gallery, a project that was completed in the Spring of 2014. Both Masters and the gallery brought significant renewed attention to Salmagundi.In 2009 he was elected as a Vice President of Salmagundi and beginning in 2011 was elected to four terms as Chairman of the Board/CEO, concluding in 2019.During his tenure of leadership, he helped to lead Salmagundi through many years of unprecedented growth.An avid collector of historic Salmagundi memorabilia, Tim and his wife Cathi live in Cody, Wyoming and Santa Fe, New Mexico. He has been the publisher of Western Art & Architecture magazine since 2019.

A Brief History

Salmagundi medal of honor was designed by Ulysses A. Ricci in 1938 and had its debut on February 7, 1939, at a special evening devoted to medallic art. It had been decided by consensus of the club’s sculptor members that he design the award without competition. Ricci suggested that “the medal be so designed that it might be awarded to a lay member for distinguished service to the club, as well as for an art award.” The resolution governing its awarding was adopted by the Executive Committee on January 24, 1939.

Originally, a strictly members award, the parameters by which the medal is awarded have been expanded in the ensuing years to include non-members who have made significant contribution to furthering those ideals espoused by the club. For these recipients, an honorary membership is bestowed to maintain fidelity to the initial criteria. The other change allows for the medal to be given to more than one recipient in any given year. At its inception, it was the custom that the medal be presented at the annual Get-Away Dinner.

The first Presidents’ Dinner-Dance was held on March 22, 1952 and has subsequently become an annual tradition. It has not yet been determined when the awarding of the medal was shifted to this event, but it has become permanently linked to it ever since. An exception to this includes a special reception held on June 2, 1970, when the Apollo XIII astronauts — Captain James A. Lovell, Fred W. Haise, and John L. Swigert — received the award for outstanding scientific achievements. In 2001, the medal was awarded to the Art Student’s League — the only non-individual ever to receive the honor. Other recipients of note include artists Norman Rockwell, Ogden Pleissner, Al Hirschfield, Frank Mason, and Everett Raymond Kinstler, as well as the Director of the Metropolitan Museum of Art Thomas Hoving, Publisher Malcolm S. Forbes and American art historian William H. Gerdts.